Loneliness In Good Company

Loneliness is a universal feeling.  Everyone feels it or has experienced it.  Loneliness comes from how we think about being alone.  Feelings are attached to our thinking, and if our thinking becomes negative, so will our feelings.  Being alone can be powerful and meaningful.  Not everyone has the opportunity to spend time alone.  My guess is there are lots of moms and dads out there who would love to have some alone time.

I choose to cherish my time alone.  After a busy day at school where I can’t go to the bathroom without a line of smiling 9 year olds waiting for me to return, I enjoy spending time alone reading, going for a long run, and making dinner while listening to NPR.

It is important to have balance of course.  And that is something I continue to work towards.  I am an introvert by nature and although I greatly enjoy the company of others, it is not always easy for me to feel motivated to be social after a long day at school.  I try not to be too hard on myself, though, because I know how well the alone time recharges me.  We all have different needs and it is important to listen to your own.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

