Get Out There!

Just Do It. You won’t regret it.

Here is something to try…make a list of three goals/things you want to do that may seem slightly embarrassing or completely impossible. Perhaps these are things you have never shared with anyone else. Maybe they are things you simply think you are too old to try. Just putting it on paper makes it real, and it will make you start to believe that you really CAN do these things.

I’ll share one of mine. I have always wanted to learn how to rock climb. As I got older, went to graduate school, and started teaching, that goal always got pushed to the bottom of the list. I turned 30 a few weeks ago and up until that point I was beginning to think I was just too old to start learning a new sport. Well, ultimately I had a change of heart and hired a guide to take me climbing. I also started going to the local rock gym. Let’s just say I’m totally hooked. I geared up this week and am diving in head first. It feels incredible.

Following your passions – whatever they are – is a great way to honor your true self.

P.S. I also want to learn how to play the guitar so I can jam the intro to Dire Straits’ “Money for Nothing.” You know what I’m taking about. I have daydreams about it. Honestly, I’m not joking. If I can admit this, you can think of a few things you really want to try, too!

Barret's Cove

Leave a Reply

